New technologies have changed the way children spend free time. Do the advantages outweigh potential disadvantages?

The advent of new technologies has led to changes in young children’s recreational activities. In my view, the drawbacks of those changes are more significant than the benefits.

On the one hand, the appearance of new devices has brought certain values to children. First, more choices are now available on computers or any other electrical devices that are connected to the Internet. This would satisfy children of different preferences for entertainment, such as watching movies, listening to music or playing games on online platform. Second, some useful skills and necessary qualities can be either initially obtained or horned by playing electronic games. Scientifically, racing games help develop motor skills in later life. Also, creativity and fast reflexes which are of great use in the future can be enhanced though puzzle or shooting games.

Despite those said advantages, I still believe that the downside of the emergence of modern technological devices in children’s leisure time is more worrying. The first drawback is that children might develop a passive lifestyle and possibly isolate themselves from society. This is because this way of entertainment is extremely addictive, and children therefore are likely to spend hours in their room without any communication with the outside world if exposed frequently. Furthermore, exposure to technology could lead to deterioration in health as hours spent on using computers can cause tremendous harm to eyesight. In fact, children at school age are suffering from short-sight due to playing video games or browsing Facebook for a long time.

In conclusion, it seems to me that, regarding children’s leisure activities, the benefits of newly introduced technological devices are eclipsed by the disadvantages.