News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, the use of graphical interpretation in magazines and TV programs are becoming more and more popular. I firmly believe that it has a positive impact on ability of watchers to remember information due to the fact that human brains are more focused on information that is easy to remember. Moreover, due to the fact that it is no more needed to read hundreds of words, use of images reduce the time viewers spends on news.

One of the cornerstone reason why i think graphic interpretation plays beneficial role is how easier it is for individuals to collect knowledge from the television or the newspapers when they do not need to read that much. According to researchers from the UK, the most efficient part of human species memory is graphic memory, it is approximately 7 times faster that the reading and listening type. Therefore, i strongly believe that images sharply increase the efficiency of watching and reading news.

Other root cause why i advocate for showing pictures in broadcasts and papers is amount of time which can be saved by it. For instance, the average citizen of Kazakhstan spends 30 minutes on reading words in medias every day. If there are more graphic images than words, readers will spend dramatically less time on reading and could dedicate their time on other profitable direction. Hence, it has a strong impact on the society and can help it in a good way.

In conclusion, it is possible to say that graphic interpretation of words has strong advantages such as the amount of time which can be saved by it, and the knowledge assimilation in readers minds.