News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Few people consider the pictures, that are displayed along with the event highlights on TV or in newspapers, as more effective than written passages. In my opinion, I believe that any news post that is displayed with the related photocopies, effectively conveys the underlying incident because the public can understand the pictures quickly and the images represent almost the entire scene in one shot.

Usually when someone glances newspaper or listens to TV announcement, if details are captured and displayed as snapshots, the visualisations capture their mind very quickly. Pictorial form of communication can be understood by anyone within less time of about 5 to 10 seconds.

For example, an announcement about the Indian team winning the final match in World Cup 2024, when posted along with a picture of the team receiving the trophy could express the message to the fullest within 2 to 3 seconds of time.

Yet another fact is that the photocopies that are added with the information, usually capture the full flow or the details of the topic under discussion. The media files represent the parties or people involved, convey what actions were performed and depict the impacts involved. Even a complex flow of occasions can be showcased easily via few clips of the event that happened. For example, news about a ship sinking in the Pacific Ocean can be easily explained by displaying the live image of the same.

To conclude, photocopies that are added in publishing the world happenings are more powerful in enabling the message to reach the audience because it takes less time to interpret the images and the photos give full view of the topic being discussed.