Newspapers have a significant influence on people's ideas and opinions. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, individuals are influenced by mass media, especially by newspapers, therefore, the articles from newspapers can impact a person’s thinking and views. In my opinion, the availability of newspapers is the main reason for its substantial effect on people, who are able to read it online or in magazines. However, I guess it is a positive development, because each person has their own freedom to discuss some news.

Regarding the first question, the availability of this kind of mass media attracted a lot of individuals in the past and recent times, while information is one of the crucial pieces of knowledge for everyone, so our society still has a tendency to receive news through mass media. Therefore, new information can change someone’s views, because of their nescience of something. For instance, someone received misinformation from social media and believed that it’s correct, so they had some thoughts about it. However, it turned out to be a lie, so after gaining new knowledge, obviously, their minds will change.

Why is this a positive development? Keeping in touch with news has a huge impact on life and be sure that there is not any incorrect information. Moreover, newspapers can increase the individual’s communicative knack, because the knowledge of what is happening in the world is an exciting theme for conversations with others. In addition, I tend to think that influence on people by newspapers is positive development, which can get rid of some arguments and discussions.

To conclude, I agree that newspapers have an enormous impact on individuals, as a result of their availability and positive aspects for society.