Newspapers should not be printed. Do you agree or disagree.

Newspapers are no longer relevant, therefore they should not be printed. Despite authentic experience that physical newspapers might give, I strongly believe that, drawbacks such as impracticability, censorship, and harm to the environment far outweigh advantages.

Firstly, paper manufacturing is not environmentally- friendly. As newspapers are produced in high quantities, they require large amounts of paper. As a consequence of this, paper-makers cut more trees to meet the demand and to make profits. For example, the Siberian forest almost halved, since the Russian government wanted to increase its Gross Domestic Product by selling natural resources including wood for paper manufacturing in the twentieth century. Therefore, in order to tackle current ecology concerns, the usage of paper newspapers or magazines ought to be either limited or replaced.

Secondly, newspapers usually contains quite biased information, which may lead to a widespread misconception. Due to censorship process, lots of articles are not published, since they show disadvantageous, political position and vice versa. The presidential elections in Russia in 2020 is a good case in point. During the election campaign representatives from different political parties has their speeches at the public, however some newspapers such as ‘komsomolskaya pravda’ misguide the talks of politicians, except candidates that were beneficial to them.

Finally, newspapers are outdated, since people, nowadays, have quicker methods of sharing information. Rather than wasting time and money buying newspapers, individuals prefer to gather information such as news via social media on their mobile devices. It is more convenient and faster to access information all around the world, since everyone can post their own opinion on a certain topic or report about something important such as a natural disaster or a traffic accident.

To conclude, paper newspapers are not only irrelevant on account of technological development, but also the source of environmental issues. Thereby to address those problems I think that the producing process should be restricted.