Now a lot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourage them to learn vocational skill (like plumbers and electricians). Do you agree or disagree?

These days, there is an exceeded amount of students in college doing academic activities. The question that needs careful consideration is: “Should we motivate them to study vocational skills, like plumbers or electricians?”.

I am in two minds about this. On the one hand, academic education is an amazing tool if you actually want to study and pursue a career in the future. It will help you get a networking system, new acquaintances, future colleges and community of your interested field. Additionally, you will get a knowledge and experience that you would not be able to get elsewhere.

Nevertheless, higher degree is not for everyone. If you apply to university in order to have diploma just for show, you are probably wasting your time and a significant amount of money. It is better to go to technical or vocational schools to be able to get the understanding of other professions. In view of the fact that having a higher degree does not provide you a guarantee of getting six futures a year or having your own successful business.

Nowadays, a lot of qualified professionals are needed even more, then the intellectual ones. Because, if no one knew the method of repairing cars or how to be a waiter, a gym trainer or a nail tech, then who would do that? Other people, who are just intelligent may probably not get all the subtleties of unknown professional fields. These are some of the reasons, why not every single person has to have a higher educational background for the purposes of being financially stable and respected.