Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the proliferation of Internet use, young people are exposed to an increasing number of public figures. Even though these people are not ideal role models, the youth still admire them. This phenomenon brings both positive and negative implications, however, I would contend that the latter is more preeminent.

Advocates would argue that following the steps of celebrities are beneficial, espicially to the young. Famous figures are often at the height of their career, have an admirable life, all of which are largely attributed to hard work and extreme efforts. In this way, they can serve as a motivator for the younger generation to aspire. This can be exemplified by the fact that some underprivileged children are able to achieve their goals because their role models are endeavoring famous individuals.

As a counterargument, I believe that the disadvantages brought by the admiration for celebrities far outweigh the merits. Famous people have a certain extent of influence on the youth, thus creates an unfavourable situation in which they can be harmed for trying to imitate their idols. Stars are notorious for unhealthy lifestyles, often engaing in offensive behaviors, it would be extremely detrimental if their young admirers took these misdemeanors for something good and mirror their actions accordingly. Another negative aspect of looking up to famous people is that they often project a polished, well-monitered image of themselves, this can unintentionally result in the feeling of inadequacy, low self-esteem, which are major drivers for serious mental issues such as depression, anxiety and so on.

In conclusion, although it holds true that celebrities can set a good example of self motivation, I would argue that the demerits these figure reflect are more significant in light of the deliberate offences and false expectations.