Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the admiration young people have for media and sports stars has grown significantly. While these figures often hold considerable influence, they do not always set the best examples for their followers. From my own point of view, I strongly believe that this trend is largely negative and it will be elaborated on in my essay.

On the one hand, famous people are widely influential and have numerous impacts on the mindset and behaviors of young admirers. Youngsters often glorify stars as role models, which can easily shape their thoughts and views on various aspects of the world. As a result, they might develop misguided perspectives on many subjects, leading to issues like ego depletion, which can directly affect the country’s growth. For example, whenever celebrities engage in misdemeanors, their fans will defend them irrationally, or even try to imitate them as a way to convey their love and support. Consequently, their nation’s reputation might be diminished by their inhabitant’s behaviors, which can easily slow their country’s development.

As for the remaining reasons, these well-known figures mostly exhibit polished and well-monitored images of themselves, which are sometimes used for questionable purposes. Specifically, these stars exploit their strong admiration to benefit themselves by advertising dubious health products to their followers. For instance, many countries report numerous patients annually due to the lack of knowledge about a particular medicine promoted by famous media and sports stars. In fact, they use their frequent appearances across all forms of media to reinforce the product’s effect and manipulate their admirers into becoming consumers.

In conclusion, with the advancement of popular media and sports stars’ admiration of young followers despite their bad examples, can cause detrimental impacts on the behaviors, mindset and even their fans’ health, thus, I assume that this trend poses adverse results.