Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, adolescents have a great admiration for public figures. Although some people believe that they do not set the right example for teenagers, this essay will articulate the negative aspects of this trend in the upcoming paragraphs.

To commence with the first and foremost negative effect of this notion, some youngsters choose the astray path. To explain this, the influence of media and sports stars can encourage young people to mimic their behaviors. This is especially harmful if these celebrities have unhealthy lifestyles. For example, when the famous musician Kurt Cobain who was addicted to drugs committed suicide when he was very young, this event caused several cases of young people trying to do the same as him. As a result, this trend would lead to a life of misery for the person and their parents.

Further, the second negative consequence of this trend is that youngsters can be easily manipulated by famous stars. To elaborate this, movie stars usually cooperate with companies to sell products related to their characters in the films. Being obsessed with these celebrities would result in people buying unnecessary items at an overpriced cost. For instance, a headline in the renowned newspaper The New York Times published that in America, 37% of youngsters waste their monthly wages on pointless items just by the influence of their favorite celebrities. Hence, this can have a bad impact on the upcoming lives of young children.

In conclusion, admiration for the media and sports stars who are bad role models not only has adverse effects on the behavior but also personal finances of young people.