Nowadays a growing number of boys and girls within normal weight ranges have an intense fear of gaining weight and therefore get anorexia. Why do you think a lot of teenagers have a strong desire to be skinny? What can be done to prevent this eating disorder?

In modern society, people believe that being skinny means having no problem, while being overweight can lead to severe health issues. It’s an ongoing debate regarding this topic. I believe this is just a stereotype about ‘perfect body’ weight.

While some people believe that gaining weight is connected to overeating, others argue that it can be a health problem. Based on the data, more and more girls suffer from abnormal weight due to hormonal fluctuations. Moreover, high glucose and cholesterol levels, as well as diabetes, can affect fat indices of the young generation, so focusing on a balanced diet and regular training is the solution. On the other hand, stress can be one of the most influential factors leading them to overeating, so reducing it may help to solve the problem.

Additionally, there is a mainstream that is promoting the skinny bodies, the model-like ones. The consistent influence of that skinny stereotype can lead to a strict diet, an eating disorder or even anorexia in teenagers, who are eager to get a ‘perfect body’ and who might be suffering from bullying at school. To prevent this issue, teenagers should not focus on trends and accept themselves. If parents paid more attention to their kids’ mental health, there would be fewer examples of anorexia at a young age and eating disorders.

In conclusion, the problem of the ‘perfect body’ stereotype is still sparking heated debate. The solutions that may help to prevent the eating disorder in young generation are to focus on their mental health, promote balanced diet and regular training.