nowadays advertising has a strong impact on people’s decision-making process. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is true that advertising has a strong influence on an individual’s decision-making process. This essay will suggest that economic benefit is the biggest advantage of this and the promotion of harmful product is the primary disadvantage.

One advantage of advertisement is economic benefits. To be precise, advertising can encourage companies to compete and provide new products which encourage more consumers to buy the products because these things are the needs and wants of more consumers. Thus, the economy is positively affected. Another benefit of adverts is mass communication. To be more exact, without advertisement many forms of mass media such as newspapers, magazines and television may not exist , if there is no advertisement, as they are mainly related to the add. Further, advertising positively effects society because it makes mass communication affordable for everyone.

A primary disadvantage of advertisement is promotion of harmful products. Firstly, it increases a number of teenagers who consumes alcohol products by advertising beers, vines and so on, with the help of radio, television or film. Moreover, how more individuals will buy alcohols then more drinking shops and spots will be opened, and the advertising of them will increase, which is negatively affects on public health. Another drawback of adverts is false image. So, people may hate themselves because of the adverts , which show some slim models. Mainly, people with the negative thoughts about themselves or with the low self-esteem may lead to that.

In conclusion, advertising has benefits such as economic increase and mass media communication, but deteriorating of public health and false images are negatives.