Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

It is observed among children that they spend maximum amount of time watching TV and playing video games. It is argued by some that these engagements can negatively affect mental health of children. In my opinion, the statement is true and I would like to elucidate the reasons in support of the idea.

Admittedly, by being glued to television not only affects child’s mental health but also physical health.

These activities acts as a hindrance for their studies as they lose focus which leads them getting distracted from the academics by being less engaged in school. This in turn, impacts children’s intellectual level and sharpness. Additionally, by spending more time on entertainment and less on real time interaction also poses a negative effect to child’s personality and communication skills.

Moreover, online games affect children in a negative way. The adage ” All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” fits well for this scenario. The increased amount of time on sitting turns children to couch potato thereby increasing the chances of obesity. It severely impacts their health by turning them into less active individuals.

In conclusion, with the advent of technological advancements, children needs to be monitored so that they do not lose focus and stay healthy.