Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

In this age of technological advancement, younger generations spend a great deal of time in front of TV screens and video-games. Although, watching TV and playing virtual games might possess some benefits, some individuals beleive that indulging in such activities for a extended period could be detrimental for a child’s mental well-being. From my perspective, I firmly beleive that these activities restrict a child’s overall cognitive development.

As compared to past, youngsters in the modern times are provided with varieties of virtual mediums keeping them entertained. These medium tend to be addictive to a growing child. Involving for a longer period of time around screens tend to diminish the rate of cognitive growth. This does not only make a child more isolated but also makes them prone to develop mental issues like Autism during their early stage of development. For instance, children engaging in virtual world for long time might not be aware of the reality surrounding them. As a result, there is less social bonding inducing isolation and inability to deal with social situations. Such instance would be harmful in future as the child is on the process of personal growth and mental development.

Furthermore, some of the scenes presented in TV programs and computer games are related to crimes and violence to some degree. Although, young individuals are restricted from such media, they might find some way to watch them, and are vulnerable to these scenes. If proper monitoring is not given by the parents, children might imitate such activities. Virtual games related to road rage, violence and wars could be some of the examples of such scenarios. Also, nowadays, in TV news and programs there are many news and movies circulating around violence and crimes whcih might further hamper a child’s mental state.

To conclude, young minds are vulnerable to social isolation and retardation in cognitive growth as children are more involved in virtual world rather than the surrounding around them. This might be detrimental to the child’s personal growth in the future. Thus, with proper measures like parental guidance and monitoring children could be checked off the harmful effects that they might be exposed to on watching TV and playing vitual games.