Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, children are being exposed to a significant amount of screen time, spending hours on watching TV and playing video games. Some people believe that these activities are not advantageous for children’s mental health. In fact, I agree with those who feel that too much screen time is detrimental for child developments for two main reasons.

First and foremost, a significant drawback of excessive TV screen time and playing video games is the potential of social isolation. Children who spend too much time engaged in these activities usually miss out on social interaction with their peers. Meanwhile, face-to-face interaction especially with children their age are extremely vital for their social and emotional developments. As a result, without these experiences, children would struggle to develop some essential social skills such as sharing, cooperating and communicating which would be valuable to have as they grow older.

Secondly, too much watching TV and playing video games means excessive indoor time. Children who spends an unreasonable time sitting and laying around at home are highly at risk of some health problems. Too much screen time will not only affect their physical health but it will also affect their mental health such as anxiety, stress and sleep disorder. For instance, by obsessively playing video games, children would lose track of the time and when it is time for bed they will still be energetic and this could cause them to have a hard time falling asleep.

In conclusion, children who have an excessive TV screen time and video games would lack of social skills and experience some health problems. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that there are several disadvantageous for children’s mental health and developments if they are exposed to an excessive TV screen time and playing too much video games.