Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

These days, some people are not on the side of kids playing video games or watching TV because they do not think these hobbies are advantageous, which I strongly agree with.

People who believe that children watching TV or playing video games are helpful, think these activities will improve their knowledge of different scenarios and surroundings and make good memories for them. Firstly, when they watch a lot of TV shows or programs or play different video games with different set pieces, they will acknowledge different situations more than other kids and mentally they will be more aware of the incidents that occur around them or happened to them and on top of that, they will be able to give proper answers and solution more than those who do not do this kind of activities. Another reason is when this kind of kid grows up, they will remember the memory of a certain game or show in their childhood, and remembering it then is as appealing as it was in their childhood which is a sign of good mental health. Although there are these considerable advantages, overall it is negative because there are more important factors like feeling isolated and disconnected from the world and physical problems which not only disfunction the kid, it can also be continued to kid adulthood and even make the older version of that kid a stranger in society.

When a kid gets used to watching tv and playing video games a lot, it becomes the child’s safe zone, and getting outside of this safe zone would be a lot harder as the kid grows. To get out of the safe zone a child needs to go and explore the outside which is already hard due to the distance of a kid to its environment and on top of that, the lack of real-life experience stops the child from making a proper connection which leads to isolation and not making real friends, that said, the feeling of isolation affect the children mental health and it is miserable both in child and adulthood. Moreover, excessive exposure to TV and video game screens leads to various physical problems. Issues like decreased physical activities, which are dangerous for a kid to not play sports or engage its body to an activity in order to strengthen their body. There are also potential disrupted sleep patterns and weakness of the eyes, which both jeopardize a person, particularly at a young age. There is a saying that suggests good mental health is in a good and healthy body, and these two are very connected and affect each other.

In conclusion, I agree that watching and playing a lot of TV shows and games are not that beneficial for children. Children should be out and explore the beauty of life and friendship, and a sedentary lifestyle in front of the tv is not a good way to find out about the world.