Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, owing to the increasing popularity of global tourism among travellers, people’s opinions are divided on whether this development is beneficial or detrimental. Some people claim that worldwide tourism might create conflicts or arguments between countries. Some others think otherwise, claiming that international tourism is the optimal approach to foster apprehension and exchange of different cultures. From my standpoint, I am neutral to both of these views and this essay will present my own reasoning and opinions about them.

To begin with, it stands to reason that global tourism brings about tremendous benefits. Regarding the facet of cultural integration, international tourism facilitates people’s gain in understanding and perception of other cultures around the world. For example, only by travelling to far-flung regions in the northwest of Vietnam can foreigners have insights into the difficulties concerning the lack of necessities or even accommodations of many minorities. Despite such inadequacies, these residents still show kindness and hospitality to visitors and perform local songs for them. Thanks to these experience, the tourists could know how to appreciate their fulfilling life more as well as know what they are lacking, thereby making efforts to develop and improve them. Another noteworthy point is that global tourism is a contributory factor in promoting positive images of countries. One prime example of this argument is that Vietnamese coffee has ranked second in the world, which was partly attributed to the videos of foreign youtubers showing the freshness and aroma of this type of coffee. This activity significantly contributes to driving the expansion and prosperity of Vietnamese trade and business sectors, thereby catalyzing the development of the domestic economy.

Notwithstanding the above line of reasoning, global tourism carries several potential hidden risks. First and foremost, if visitors do not thoroughly research the culture of foreign countries, it might lead to unworthy misunderstandings or conflicts. For example, using the “ ok” symbol in the USA shows your acceptance to something or your well-being. However, when it comes the Brazil, the “ok “ symbol points to vulgar language, which is likely to result in anger and disrespected feeling of local residents. Besides social tensions, international tourism can destroy the local environment in some countries. Undoubtedly, that the influx of visitors to Hanoi litter on a daily basis gradually makes the surroundings become more contaminated and toxic.

All things considered, while the advantages of global tourism are truly enormous, we should not overlook its drawbacks on the society and environment. I am of the conviction that tourists must have a comprehensive understanding of their chosen countries to avoid problems as much as posible.