Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A number of individuals asserts that overseas travelers foster tension instead of embracing among people from diverse cultures. Although tourism presents challenges, I disagree the notion that they can bring more harsh tensions between locals and international tourists. I believe that it holds the potential to boost cross-boundary understanding and promote economic growth, despite the drawbacks it may entails.

It is undeniable that global tourists may experience a wide range of detrimental situations due to ignorance and lack of concern about local regions. There exists conflict among races in many facets such as religions or beliefs, in this case, the tension between the tourists and the locals can render misunderstanding or frustration more dramatic by discerning treatment. For example, in the bulk of Muslim countries, it is a taboo that tourists consume pork-based products because of the strict framework in their religion. Added to this, pigs are considered unclean creatures as food in Muslims, meaning that pork-based consumption is not appropriate behavior.

Notwithstanding these arguments, international tourism offers more beneficial to the locals by driving economic growth and fostering cultural diversities. Initially, the proliferation of global travelling in the aftermath of Covid-19 surges the worldwide economic rebound. This phenomenon can address the surplus of workforce by creating employment for the local communities. Take Hanoi city as an evidence, in 2023, the capital of Vietnam witnessed the influx of tourists due to the economic recovery after the pandemic. Additionally, the role of multicultural patterns in bolstering the economic growth and alleviating the discrimination cannot be overlooked. These could range from bringing out political improvements to relieving racial conflicts, leading to the sustainable relationship for both travelers and indigenous communities.

In conclusion, even if there are advantages and disadvantages to foreign travel, I don’t think the latter outweighs the former. Traveling has more positive effects on stress reduction, cross-cultural understanding, and personal growth than negative ones. Hence, it is imperative to recognize and confront the obstacles presented by global tourism while simultaneously appreciating its capacity to foster favorable consequences.