Nowadays, large shopping centers and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate surrounding many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping malls has been gaining traction in recent years. While there are undeniable benefits to this development, I claim that it generally poses a number of significant drawbacks.

One of the main advantages of this trend is competitive prices and increased satisfaction. Illustrated, travelling to large shopping centres have an inclination to better offers such as affordable prices and excellent customer services, which appeal to visitors on target audiences. Additionally, this practice encourages customer buying behavior. Another benefit lies in its great convenience for consumers which make it particularly attract to people with busy duties. The convenience and accessibility of almost large shopping malls is more dominant than the small local stores, transforming the way people engage with their products. Furthermore, the large shopping centres’ attraction is also the better quality and the wide range of goods. Major consumers visiting to shopping malls can more easily find out their needs without reluctance or confusing pricing thanks to the variety of products. Typically, individuals have a better purchasing experience by that foundation for their loyalty.

However, the drawbacks of travelling to large shopping malls instead of small local shops can not be overlooked. Firstly, a major concern is that it may lead to loss of local identity. For instance, over-reliance on shopping centres has been linked to fewer unique local products, which can have serious consequences for balanced local economy. Moreover, this trend might widen the gap of community connection, thereby deepening social inequalities. Lastly, ethical considerations surroundings job loss in local areas often sparks heated debates because the industrialization in this modern era, the growth of more and more shopping centres has dominated the others. Therefore, closing small local shops causes unemployment in many places.

In conclusion, while travelling to large shopping malls rather than small local stores gives some benefits to community, I firmly believe the drawbacks still outweigh.