Nowadays many countries are facing problems related to waste disposal. Why is this the case? How can this issue be tackled?

Introduction-It has been experienced in many nations that generation of garbage and its elimination is a big cause of concern. This was not the issue earlier but it is a huge trouble to deal with at present and there are universal reasons for this. Its impacts are grave and much can be done to overcome this.

Causes-One of the factors responsible is that there are no enough drop off sites. By this, I mean that people do not find proper places to dump waste in close proximity and they discard it openly anywhere. Moreover, markets are flooded with disposable products but there is no proper system to recycle them. So, waste accumulates and makes open spaces look shabby/littered. Apart from these, with rising population, waste generation increases rapidly and as most of the waste is inorganic, there is no possibility of biodegradation. Not only these, majority of population is not habituated to dispose waste in proper manner. Though they are made aware of segregation of waste before disposal, they are too lazy to follow protocols. Apart from these, recycling is not done by most of the households and industries, which makes waste disposal sites difficult to manage. For instance, according to latest reports by an environmental agency, 90 percent waste is not treated.

Effects-Haphazard waste disposal is responsible for the spread of many diseases. Even more, land and water pollution surges, along with toxicity in the air. Most of us are not aware that waste disposal by humans has also contaminated oceans, threatening marine life. Above all, with preference for packed products, more plastic and metal are used , which end up on grounds for centuries, spoiling beauty of such places.

Solutions-The most effective way to deal with this issue is to take very strict steps against all those who are caught red-handed, discarding waste without following proper rules must be given punishment and made to pay higher penalties. Besides this, people must understand that charity begins at home. It is a shame that educated people do not bother about waste disposal which has serious environmental and health implications. More awareness campaigns can make some difference. As a whole, the pressing problem of improper waste disposal must be addressed collectively for desired impacts.

Conclusion-To conclude, the time has come to work out for solid solutions in this matter, or else, the world would be brimming with garbage. Everyone must adhere to the policy of recycle and reuse as much as possible.