Nowadays, many high schools and universities prioritize students having international English language certificates. Is it a positive or negative policy? What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, students with international English language certificates have been privileged in a number of high schools and universities. While this trend could exert an adverse impact on those with a tight budget, I could argue that requiring English certificates is of great importance thanks to global opportunities.

On the one hand, this priority is somehow detrimental, especially for students who are financially disadvantaged. It is because students have to allocate a large amount of money to the exam including study courses, learning materials, and the fee for the certificates . For instance, with a view to gaining an IELTS certificate, they have to spend hundreds of dollars, which could put a heavy pressure on those that financially struggle.

On the other hand, despite such disadvantages, I would contend that prioritizing international language qualifications has several advantages. The first perk worth mentioning is that students would have a better chance to study abroad. These certificates are regarded as an international recognition for English ability, which is beneficial for the students when applying to universities overseas. Another merit is that they would have more job opportunities across the globe. The chance to study abroad enables students to access the global job market, which leads them to have a more lucrative job for a better life.

In conclusion, that many high schools and universities putting an emphasis on international English language certificates could place a financial burden on underprivileged students, it seems to me that this priority could have many positive effects on students in this globalized society.