Nowadays many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies or individuals or governments?

We live in an age when medical research projects are mostly sponsored by private companies. I personally believe that resources from both private companies and the government are very important.

On the one hand, the most important goal of the government is to make people’s lives better. For people to live better, they need to have strong health. Because of that, the government needs to develop medical conditions in the country. In my opinion, the government must carry out large research projects, like preventing cancer, heart diseases, diabetes, etc. This research can help a lot of people and save many lives. The government can spend a significant part of the country’s budget on medical research. For instance, the government can give grants for research.

On the other hand, the government has many other responsibilities to its inhabitants, such as safety, good quality of transport, and improving environmental problems. So, obviously, they cannot spend all their money on medical projects. Therefore, I am inclined to the opinion that private companies can also fund medical projects. However, the main goal of private companies is high earnings, so they very rarely fund research about cancer. Major companies carry out projects about trending themes, like acne. If we look at statistics, around 50% of people have problems with their skin, so for companies, this sphere can be very profitable. Private companies can help in different ways, often through charity, special grants, or a share of the future earnings from innovation or patents.

To conclude, I believe that not only funding by the government but also funding by private companies is very important.