Nowadays many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies or individuals or governments?

In the present age, private companies are the main entities that fund medical research projects. In this essay, I will elucidate why I think this kind of project should be mainly carried by governments, instead of private companies or individuals.

To begin with the main reason, the importance of these projects to society. To clarify, medical research projects might lead to significant changes in society if they succeed, such as finding a cure for a particular disease, and it is the government’s duty to improve the well-being of its citizens, and this also includes their health conditions. In further clarification, by financially supporting these studies, governments can assist in the founding of cures of diseases that would alter people’s lives for the better. For example, imagine someone suffering from a specific disease for several years, and the cure can be found by some researchers, but they do not have sufficient funds to carry out their medical project. The government has enough power and budget to support them and save that person’s life, alongside many others.

Furthermore, although some people might assert that this kind of project may be more independent in its actions if it is sponsored by individuals or private businesses, government support is the best option. Namely, it is not easy to find private companies to provide funds for these studies because they mostly care about their own profits. In terms of individuals, their budgets might be limited compared to those of governments and private companies. Therefore, the best choice is the support of governments.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that medical studies should be funded by governments because they are the main entities that serve society, and the other potential funders’ budgets are relatively limited.