Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Currently, private companies are funding a large number of research projects related to medicine. However, I believe it is better if governement carry out these studies as there will not be any chances of bias report during publication. Also, research articles published by governement are comparatively affordable and trust-worthy.

Privately funded research articles can release tampered content and findings, which might lead to biased conclusion. For instance, XYZ funds for a research study related to paracetamol and paracetamol is manufactured by XYZ company. While conducting investigations about side effects, researcher found it’s adverse effects in consumer’s mental health. Even after this findings, XYZ company might force researchers to publish bias report mentioning it’s benefits only.

Not only this, privately funded research projects are moslty done for business purposes, which means readers have to pay certain amount for accessing articles. This means only limited number of indivduals who can pay will have access to the research. For example, a student writing reports tries to access a reports for literature review but couldn’t read full article because of financial limitations.

In conclusion, research studies should be conducted by government to restrict the probability of bias result and make research accessible to large population at low cost.