Nowadays many people aim to create a balance between their work and other aspects of their life, however, only a few achieve it. What are the problems in doing this and what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays numerous people face the problem to set priorities between career and private life. Most of us cannot dedicate equal amount of time on work and other daily activities. Therefore, a question arises what the causes of this problem are and how it can be resolved. So, in this essay I will try to consider both reasons and possible solutions.

The first and main reason is fear to lose a workplace. Now competition in the labour market is extremally high in the vast majority of areas, that’s why many employees decide to work hard and fulfil additional duties in order not to lose their job. As a result, there is no time for any other thing like hobbies or lazy day with relatives and friends. For example, my friend worries about her reputation in front of the boss, she cannot establish personal boundaries and always agree to work on holidays. The other cause is simple incapacity to make and follow a schedule. Many of us are not organized enough to distribute hours on working process and free time. Thus, my brother may spend the whole week playing video games and leave his things to do till the deadline which often makes the employer dissatisfied. More or less this also leads to disproportion between professional prospects and leisure time.

However, it’s possible to find a balance. Firstly, we need to acquire skills how to defend personal boundaries and overthink of professional image less. In this case individual sessions with psychotherapist can be effective. Secondly, it would be better for everyone to get to know the basics of time management. In the internet there are many lifehacks how to make an appropriate timetable and become more concentrated when it’s necessary.

To sum up, I’d like to say that in any case a work-life balance may be achieved. At the current moment there are different means that could enable us to do so, if one only made an effort.