Nowadays, many people are using social media. What are the advantages and disadvantages of social media to the lives of people?

Presently, numerous people are using social media platforms such as Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and Telegram. While there are obvious advantages offered by social media, its drawbacks should also be taken into account.

One the one hand, social media could bring about a number of benefits to our lives. Firstly, social media allow for instant and convenient communication. In fact, people can engage in communication with friends and families anytime and anywhere with the use of social media tools. For example, social media users, particularly in telegram, can chat through texting, sending audio/video messages and making video calls. Furthermore, social media eliminates some constraints created by physical distance. Obviously, people from two different corners of the globe can communicate through social media without bothering to take a long trip. Otherwise, one might have to invest much effort and time into conversing in-person in such scenarios.

Having said that, social media are regarded with some pessimistic views for several reasons. First off, the popularity of social media may end up little endorsement received by face-to-face communication. People preferring the convenient and quick means of online interaction are less likely to maintain in-person communication with one another any longer. It is obvious in present days, fewer people than before are paying visits to relatives or friends to converse face-to-face in the light of the popularity of online chatting. In addition, when engaging in social media, it is important to take into account privacy concerns. When uploading information on social media, it is suggested to avoid sharing personal data in case of online privacy threats. Otherwise, this personal data may be used by frauds.

In conclusion, social media offer clear practical ways of communicating that are far more convenient and quicker than physical communication. However, its negative aspects are that it may cause physical interaction to disappear gradually, as well as there is the risk of theft of personal data.