Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the midst of the current globalised world being employed is a necessity to thrive. However, while a number of people are

making to choice to leave their corporate jobs and become self employed in the hopes of gaining some flexibility and

fulfill an ambition of theirs, it can become a bit time consuming and creates unnecessary risks.

The choice of working for oneself can be caused by a couple of reasons. First, employees would love to feel the freedom

and flexibility present in their every day working life. Whether it being their own boss, allowing themselves to have

flexible working hours during the day. For example, a self-employed person could take a 2-hour luch break instead of

only 1 and make use of the time pocket to run some errands to catch up with a friends. Wanting to fulfill a personal

ambition of leading a successful person business could be another reason deriving their choice. This could be due

to the fact that the company’s goals and ethics weren’t aligning with their own professional goals.

However, despite the mentioned benefits, self-employment could result in some drawbacks. For instance, running a solo

business is not a piece of cake, If a person is running an online clothing store for example, they’ll need to be

availabe at all times in case a problem with the website occured or a batch of a certain garment was produced in the

wrong size. Moreover, the burden of working for oneself will definitely come with risks. Being

self-employed means that there is no one around to give you direction or guide you on what you should do in certain

situations and when the business grows, you’ll be responsible for a group of employees. The financial burden that comes with

that is inevitable, especially knowing that the growth rate at the start will be infinitesimal, meaning the person will need

to give more than they’ll take in addition to giving out monthly salaries.

To sum up, although working on your own offers a great deal of flexibility and making ambitions real, it will surely come with a some

obstacles such as consuming time and putting everything at risk.