Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An increasing number of people today opt to work for themselves instead of having a job. This choice has a number of benefits and drawbacks which will be discussed in this essay.

Some of the most common reasons for self-employment are the income and lifestyle that it may provide. Unlike employees , whose responsibilities and income are determined by their employers, people who work for themselves are free to implement their ideas as quickly as they can, and they receive all the revenue. That means that self-employed people can potentially earn much more than those who work for a salary. Moreover, not having a boss means that people can choose their own working hours and number of holidays, among others things. Not surprisingly, more and more people are leaving the safety of a salaried job to become self-employed.

Despite the obvious appeal, being self-employed is riskier than working for someone else. One of the risks is financial uncertainty. entrepreneurs and freelancers are not guaranteed a certain level of income, nor they are eligible for a pension, paid holidays and sick leaves. The workload maybe higher too. Unlike employees who can specialize in one function, the self-employed are responsible for all the business operations, from attracting clients to delivering products or services to preparing their financial accounts, to name a few. The multitude of issues that self-employed people have to manage may cause them more stress and anxiety then full time employees tend to experience.

To conclude, more and more people are becoming self-employed, choosing the flexibility and unlimited potential that this career path provides. On the downside, these people are not guaranteed any income and must take full responsibility for themselvs.