Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on family life and society?

In recent years, the decision of parents to start a family later in life has become increasingly prevalent. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this trend before clarifying its detrimental impacts on both family life and society as a whole.

There are two primary reasons as to why more couples nowadays are deciding against having children when they are young. Firstly, rather than embarking on parenthood, numerous individuals consider that building their own successful career ladder is top-priority. If they had to split their time between bringing up their offspring and working when they are at the early stages of their careers, their performance at work and promotion prospects could be negatively affected. Secondly, delaying childbirth could give young people countless opportunities to enjoy their lives. For example, this choice may let the young in Vietnam have a richer social life, pursue their interests and hobbies, or even travel the world, which could also help them prepare better before becoming parents.

This trend could have an adverse bearing on both families and our communities. First and foremost, raising children could be a huge challenge for older parents. This is because of the fact that it may not be easy for them to communicate with and relate to their children due to the generation gap, which could lead to conflicts and countless family problems, such as domestic violence or even divorce. Furthermore, getting pregnant after the age of 35 often carries more potential health risks. Specifically, this could increase the danger of having a miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down syndrome. This, therefore, could lead to a deterioration in the quality of the workforce in the future.

In conclusion, prioritizing building a successful career path and enjoying life are two underlying motives behind this negative development, and it is having undesirable influences on each family and the whole society.