Nowadays, more people travel abroad for tourism than ever before.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Over the past decades, the phenomenon of abroad tourism has gained significant attention among the general public. In this day and age, people can effortlessly visit any point in the world, which was not the case just a century ago. As a result, this tendency has given rise to continuous debates. I personally contend that this tendency has both detrimental and positive impacts, and I will reinforce my point of view in the following essay.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the advent of modern technologies has had a pivotal influence on our lives, including the means of transportation. The tangible advancements in the field of vehicles have enabled mankind to live a more vivid and fulfilling life; now, people can travel to various parts of the world and behold a plethora of places firsthand, rather than get by with merely photographs or other media. It is also important to mention that a great number of psychologists state that the personal experiences made with the help of travelling foster a good state of mentality, which is, in my opinion, one of the most important things to maintain and keep track of.

However, memorable recollections keep pace with the repercussions. First of all, the significant usage of various modes of transportation over the past century has led to unrecoverable consequences. Nowadays, our generation must face a considerable number of potential threats; alongside global warming, people now need to tackle such problems as environmental pollution, the dying out of wildlife, an increased risk of respiratory diseases, which are by no means benign outcomes. The more people travel, the more greenhouse gases are emitted into the atmosphere, enormously endangering society and further generations.

After taking into consideration all the points made above, I can conclude that the trend has its own merits and demerits. While people are now enabled to create new colorful experiences and travel easily, it does not erase the ramifications of the free usage of high-emission vehicles we are facing now and will be facing in the future. Although I do not find the fact of travelling negative per se, I do believe that pollutant-emitting means of transportation should be refined into eco-friendly ones so that they do not contaminate our planet and jeopardize people’s lives.