Nowadays, more people travel abroad for tourism than ever before.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, international tourism has grown significantly, with more people travelling to foreign countries than it used to be. While some people believe it will bring economic and cultural benefits, others argue that it will lead to environmental damage and overcrowding. This essay will elaborate on positive development from international tourism.

It is undeniable that the increasing amount of tourism brings a lot of benefits to a country. When tourists come to a country, it will increase the amount of foreign exchange. The foreign exchange and national income increases if tourists make transactions at the local market. Moreover, tourism urges a country to improve their infrastructures. Since tourists come from overseas, the government will need to develop their access such as airports, sea ports, and public transportations. Additionally, they sometimes buy a lot of souvenirs and gifts from local sellers. Indirectly, they will acquaint local cultures to other countries.

On the other hand, local cultures can also be known to other countries because of tourism. For instance, when tourists buy some souvenirs, they sometimes will give it to their families and tell them what the item is. In some countries, the type of tourism they offer is the exploration of domestic culture. The trip leader or local residents will introduce the local cultures, so that tourists obtain some knowledge about their cultures. Additionally, local cultures can also be spread from social media. For instance, tourists that do vlogging or upload their stories to social media will attract their viewers’ attention about its local cultures.

In conclusion, the increasing amount of tourism will raise a country’s income and foreign exchange. Furthermore, local cultures can be introduced through souvenirs and social media. However, the government should aware of tourism and keeps maintaining their local culture from extinction.