Nowadays, more people travel abroad for tourism than ever before.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Over the past decades, across various countries tourism has become unavoidable part for many. As a result, number of people can effortlessly visit any country at any time of the year. Although, this development is not without its drawbacks, I would contend that it is for the most part a positive change.

To begin, advancement of tourism carries negative impacts of tourists’ destination. Firstly, social issues such as overcrowding is imposing a burden on locals. Popular tourist spots can become overcrowded leading to congestion, noise pollution, and a decline in quality of experience for both tourists and locals. Moreover, with the rise of tourists at some countries, housing costs are getting more expensive. Big flow of tourists is affecting housing prices, making it unaffordable for locals. For example, in 2022 when numerous Russian tourists were visiting Uzbekistan, majority of rent prices increased dramatically.

Despite the above-mentioned drawback, I believe the development of tourism is favorable for country’s economy and culture. Firstly, destination which attracts number of visitors can create employment opportunities for locals. Tourism provides jobs in various sectors like hospitality, transportation and entertainment. Hence, this is boosting country’s economy with higher employment rates. Additionally, tourism can effect to great exposure and marketing. Travelers can empower local communities be providing economic opportunities and fostering a sense of pride in their culture and heritage.

In conclusion, while tourism has some negative impacts such as city’s overcrowding and rising housing costs which has adverse effects on economy of the country, I would argue it is advantageous for country’s economy and culture.