Nowadays most people wear western clothing rather than their traditional clothes. What are the reasons for it? Is it a positive or a negative development?

A recent trend that has been observed in many countries around the world has been the adoption of western style of clothing in place of traditional attire. It is often debated that this kind of shift might be detrimental to regional cultures and traditions of these countries. In this essay I will cover some major reasons behind this change and why I believe it to be an advantageous development.

To begin with, the way of dressing of human society has changed consistently in the past, under the primary influence of the business and trade. In today’s world, the western countries are the centre of trade and commerce and highly impact the lifestyle of the modern corporate culture. Consequently, giving rise to the huge markets for the western clothing brands with large a variety of affordable and accessible clothing lineups, likes of which are hard to compete against. The comfort, durability and easy avalability of these clothes make them highly popular among the general masses.

Although, some individuals are concerned about such westernisation of people’s lifestyle, there are numerous benefits to the wide adoption of western garments. Particularly, it provides a much needed protection against the dress based discrimination by making it easy for people from different cultures to fit in. It introduces a sense of uniformity at the workplace, providing a way to eleminate any distractions from work. Furthermore, these mass produced clothes are readily availabile everywhere at a reasonable price, aiding to the cost of living for the economically struggling sections of the society.

In conclusion, it can be established that popularity of western outfits has not only promted a sense of global identity and professionalism but also provided inexpensive clothing options to the underprivileged and the needy. Therefore, acceptance of western apparels should be seen as a step towards a prosperous future.