Nowadays most people wear western clothing rather than their traditional clothes. What are the reasons for it? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In today’s society, western style clothing has become more popular than traditional ones. There are some reasons why people have this trend, including mobility and price. While the debate whether this trend is positive or negative is consistent, I strongly contend this change is

practically beneficial which will be explained more in this essay.

People prefer wearing casual clothing due to not only its convenience and price but also its common features. It is noticeble that these types of clothes are easy-to-move things which are short and practical when individuals work or do physical activities. Conversely, conventional ones are usually long, multi-layered that hinders movement. Because they are sewn with multiple layers, they are expensive and less accessible to the general public. Meanwhile, western clothes are mass-produced, cheaper and versatile, that allows all can access to them effortlessly.

Because modern oufits are used ubiqutously, they make it easy to integrate when people in a multicultural environment. There are very few people who want to be the center of attention or stand out, so when everyone around them looks the same, they will often conform to the norm. Because of this similarity, it is also simpler for people to communicate and connect. For example, at a university, students may prefer to form new friendships with ordinary and similar counterparts instead of the one who always wearing too flashy clothes, which may make them feel inferor in terms of appareance compared to their friends.

In conclusion, wearing modern clothing offers various benefits. Not only does it allow us to move easily, save money on clothing expenses, but also it fosters the connection in society. However, people should aim to strike a balance between wearing traditional clothing at certain fesstivals or events to preserve cultural characteristics and wearing casual clothes in daily life.