Nowadays, obesity has become a major concern in many countries, especially those developed countries. A mix of multiple factors render the result and I would discuss the mains causes and potential solutions of this.

It is believed that the most important reason that bring this consequence is that the economic growth increases the minimum wages of the family, allowing them to purchase a greater amount of food. Since they have more access to abundant food resources, they are more likely to consume more than they need and breaks the inner balance of energy, thus cause overweight and related health concerns.

Another main reason is that the fast paced work environment results in a lack of time making food by oneself, many employees would consider purchasing in fast food restaurants to save time for a break. The over consumption of fat results in gaining body weight.

In order to overcome this global issue, the government should cooperate with local employers. On the government side, they can utilize the revenue to subsidize healthy diet, providing more options of local citizens to obtain healthy food and groceries, as well as providing advertisements to induce healthy diet. On the local employers side, they may provide discounts of on site healthy dinner for employees to make it accessible for healthier diet after their daily work hours.