Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it.

In this contemporary epoch, the trend of shopping online is at its peak. This essay intends to list out a few possible effects of it on the environment and on individuals who became unemployed because of it.

One of the widespread impacts on the environment is pollution. Online shopping produces a large amount of wastage that leads to bad effects on the ecosystem. To explain it, the online shopping industry uses different types of packaging materials like folding paper, boxes and plastics, which are not composed easily in soil and can increase soil pollution in the long term. Another striking issue is air pollution which is caused by delivery vehicles. To elaborate it, due to the popularity of shopping from the internet, shoppers deliver products at the doorstep of their consumer, this process can mainly be executed by bike and on large commercial vehicles. Which can increase the level of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere.

The root of this trend is not limited to environmental concerns but it also leads to problems like unemployment. Online shopping provides facilities like home delivery and discounts, as a result majority people prefer this instead of buying things from the offline stores which can decrease sales and income of small shop owners and they may close their shops due to lack of customer attraction.

In the crux of this matter, environment and job losses are at the root of this concern, which can be overcome by spreading awareness among consumers who often purchase products from online sources and force them to use local shops for daily shoppings.