Nowadays, people are able to use the internet to do an increasing number of tasks. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the internet is used by many people to do a huge number of tasks. From my perspective, I think this is a positive development and this essay will explain my reason.

On the one hand, users can feel convenient when they use the Internet. One major factor contributes to this is that the Internet contains a large amount of information which is contributed by all people around the world. Moreover, in general, the speed of the Internet is fast so users can manage their time effectively when they need to surf the Internet or research something they actually want. The prime illustration of this point is Alphabet, one of the most enormous companies which offer a platform (Google) for users to access the Internet. It appeals to around millions of people to tackle their tasks or deadlines and help them do several tasks in a short time by their information so that it can contribute to better our life in the 4.0 era.

On the other hand, it can lead to incorrect knowledge and some issues in cyber security. The main rationale behind this is that all the users can contribute their opinion to the Internet without a filter so if this contains toxic factors which can effect on other people who unable to distinguish the accuracy of it, the consequences/ repercussions will be incalculable. Furthermore, when people depend on the Internet and share their personal information to this platform, hackers can steal it to earn for a living. For example, in the 2010s, Hieu PC, who is from Vietnam, went to the USA to take/ acquire around millions information of US residents to gain a huge profit, it was a disaster event to the US society in this period of time.

In conclusion, for all aforementioned reasons, I believe that the Internet plays an important role in our life because of its convenience and a large amount of information although it can contain some risks about the correction of information and cyber security.