Nowadays people complain that they have difficulty getting enough sleep. What causes lack of sleep in modern society? What can be done to solve the issues?

In the era of modern life, individuals are somehow suffering from lack of sleep at night. In my opinion, one reason is the pressure that gains from working, the other is that using electronic device for a long time. In the following essay, I am going to expand upon my ideas and provide supporting evidence.

Nowadays, civilians are facing to live in a fast pace society which requires to finish tasks or events rapidly. In terms of this, pressure and anxiety from workplace may keep in workers’ mind, resulting in they are still worried about working while at the time they need to get rest. In addition, the usage of mobile devices has made a significant effect on individuals’ sleep. These devices such as smartphone, tablet, or laptop has the blue light from their screens, which can make it difficult for them to fall asleep. For instance, in a 2022 survey which has undertaken in Taiwan, about 60% of people have difficulty to fall asleep due to the usage of mobile devices before rest.

However, despite insomnia is a severe problem, there is a way for civilians to overcome it effectively, which is meditation. Those workers who are suffered from insomnia can utilizing meditation to let go of all emotions and calm down, combined with some relaxing music to alleviate stress. Additionally, setting sleeping time alert to notice themselves that they should get rid of their smartphone or so can be helpful about their sleeping quality. For instance, the recent survey in the UK shows that avoiding the use of mobile devices before bed and instead doing some stretching exercises like yoga can effectively useful with falling asleep.

In conclusion, insomnia can be a modern lifestyle disease due to the pressure from work or overuse of e-devices. Nevertheless, finding relaxation methos such as deep thoughts, stretching exercises, and stay away from blue light would make the quality of sleeping better.