Nowadays people have cosmetic surgery to improve life. Why do many more people choose these operations? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today life, people tend to improve their appearance by having plastic surgery. This essay will first outline the underlying reasons behind it before presenting the perspective that this is a negative development.

There are a few factors behind this trend. To begin with, this is an optimized solution to enhance appearance for aesthetic reasons, such as improving body’s contour and shape, smoothing wrinkles, and eliminating balding areas. Moreover, in some cases, people who suffer from congenital disabilities or trauma, this strategy can boost their confidence and self-esteem. Regarding body fat percentage, hospitals with cutting-edge technologies and skillful surgeons can help people get instant results instead of working out, therefore citizens would prefer to use this remedy.

Despite this need of residents, I am convinced that it comes with more drawbacks. The primary concern is that it fosters a cosmetic surgery abuse problem. In some cases, a cohort of people obsess with beauty and have some unrealistic demands. For instance, in the UK, a man decided to pursue the looks of a Barbie character. After undergoing hundreds of surgeries, the total cost of all his interventions took into account for north of 200,000 dollars. Notwithstanding these investments, he becomes unrecognizable. Furthermore, health insurance rarely covers the cost of cosmetic procedures, thereby the price for each surgery can be exorbitantly expensive. Worse still, it is not always clear that doctors have enough training and a good skill set to perform certain procedures, therefore it is very risky due to the fact that infection may occur.

To sum up, the growing trend of having plastic surgery to enhance aesthetic looks is driven by factors such as boosting confidence and self-esteem, solutions to avoid workouts, and improving beauty. Notwithstanding these certain benefits, this trend should be seen as a negative, with all the problems of expensive cost, the risk of disfigurements, the obsession with cosmetic surgery, and leading to negative social consequences.