Nowadays, people have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, the opportunities to pursue higher education abroad have been widely available. This offers various benefits, such as having more connections and a higher quality of education. However, it also presents drawbacks, including homesickness and culture shock to international students.

One clear benefit of pursuing higher education overseas is the international exposure and relations. When people are able to get the chance to study in another country, it is almost guaranteed that they will have wider chances to get international connections than those who study in their own country. They would also gain more possibilities to get a higher education in a foreign country. It can be seen in some countries, like Indonesia, where many students will try to apply to universities in developed countries such as the United States and the United Kingdom. This is because it is widely known that there are many benefits that people will get once they study abroad. The local companies would also give more opportunities for those who had finished their study in foreign countries.

However, this also poses risks to international students. Many individuals struggle when they are living in foreign countries since they are not able to meet their family and friends. Living in an environment that people are not used to living in will cause them homesickness. Being foreign students also means that they will face some cultural differences and habits that they did not experience before they went to other countries. We can see this in any foreign student; they miss their loved ones. Some of them also struggle to eat food that is not to their usual taste. The example is like when some American students find it hard to consume the food in an Asian Country like Japan.

In conclusion, studying abroad will make some students experience things that will make them struggle, such as homesickness and culture shock. Despite that, it will also give them a lot of benefits that would help them to accomplish their dream. It is highly recommended to pursue a higher education overseas for students, but it is also crucial to consider the potential difficulties.