Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is true that an excessive amount of food bought from stores and restaurants is being wasted. This can be attributed to several factors, which requires possible solutions to be adopted.

There are several explanations as to why people waste food. One possible explanation is that overbuying can cause people to waste food. The reason for this is that consumers tend to buy more than they actually need when they see promotion programs in the supermarkets, and thus these products will expire and be thrown away. Another reason worth mentioning is that excessive ordering can lead to food waste. By way of illustration, several consumers in buffet restaurants usually take a considerable amount of food, such as main courses and desserts, to try exotic tastes, thereby leaving too much leftover that will then be discarded.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be implemented to address these issues. The first possible solution is that each consumer needs to take action to stop this bad trend. For example, before going shopping they should make a shopping list in order to plan what to buy. As a result, they can reduce the amount of unwanted food that may go to waste. The second approach is that restaurants can adopt some policies, which may alleviate the issue of food waste. By way of illustration, they should introduce extra charges for certain amounts of leftovers. This can be useful to prevent consumers from ordering more food than they can consume.

In conclusion, while many reasons can be given to explain why a lot of food is being wasted, steps can be taken to alleviate the situation.