Nowadays people work too hard. what is the reason for this? what shouldemploers do to prevent employees from overworking?

People have a tendency for working overtime in today’s rapidly changing world. In my opinion, this trend can be attributed to socio-economic and professional factors, and employers should take effective measures to alleviate this situation.

One of the primary reasons is that people’s expenditures are increasing. The difficulty of keeping up with ever-rising costs of living force people to work hard so that they forgo even their vacations. For example, most people in the world, particularly developed countries, make ends meet to pay rent, much less buy a new home. By working overtime, despite difficulties, they aim to achieve financial freedom. On top of that, almost all professions are highly competitive, making necessary to do overwork. Since men and women want to secure their position or earn a promotion, they should excel in the competition. In London, as an example, people sacrifice their efforts in hopes of finding well-paid job in the most competitive working environment.

However, employers should take immediate actions so as to address this trend. Most practical approach is to increase salaries. Due to the fact that today many employees work multiple jobs to meet their financial needs. Unless employers take into consideration that cases, they cannot achieve high effectiveness of workers. As workers should consider their family members as well as future generations, they may not be fully focused on their current work. Furhtermore, it is perhaps useful if employers organize trainings and motivate their employees to maintain work-life balance. For example, bosses can alert their workers to the possible damage of relentless working. And they can organize a trip for employees, achieving their higher efficiency.

In conclusion, although people work excessively due to financial and career motivations, employers should consider necessity steps to mitigate potential damage.