Nowadays public transport prices are constantly increasing. Why do you think it is happening? How can this problem be solved?

Public transport fares keep on increasing in the recent times. This is caused by a number of factors including increase in fossil fuel prices and high revenue paid to the government. Furthermore , more people tend to use private owned vehicles causing less people to use public transportation and increase in prices . I believe these can be solved by usage of eco-friendly energy for public transportation and the government to reduce high taxes imposed on these kind of transportation.

Fossil fuel prices such as petrol have skyrocketed recently causing a hike in the cost of public transportation. For example in Kenya , a recent research concluded that the price of petrol went from sh150 to sh200 an increase of 50shillings. Moreover, the high taxation imposed on public transportation has also contributed significantly to the rise in the cost of fare.

This however can be solved by a number of ways either by the government or individually. For instance , if the taxes are reduced by the government, I believe the high cost of fare would reduce. The government can also implement usage of eco- friendly energy instead of non- renewable energy. Additionally, if more people start using public transportation instead of private owned vehicles, the prices would definitely lower down.

In conclusion, high prices of fuel together with high taxation increase the cost of public transportation . However, this can be prevented by usage of eco-friendly energy and encouraging citizens to use public transportation frequently instead of private owned vehicles .