Nowadays shopping has replaced many other activities that people choose as their hobby in their free time. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, shopping has become a very popular leisure time activity instead of doing other activities. There are plenty of causes for this. I will first focus on the causes for this trend before moving on to look at the consequences of this. In my firm opinion, the excessive shopping creates a negative development in terms of wasting time and money.

The trend towards spending leisure time shopping relieves stress because people always try to stabilize their finances. Hence, they do plenty of work to achieve these financial targets. However, they feel fatigued by the end of the day. Consequently, they search for a way to release their stress and go shopping. Besides, most women find happiness while shopping, which creates a positive mood for them. Therefore, they tend to go shopping with relatives or friends to have fun. Apart from that, the fundamental needs have increased, although they do not have much more money. These factors lead them to go shopping.

If anyone uses shopping as their spare time activity, it leads to the waste of their valuable time because while shopping with friends, they do not pay attention to the time, for example, students spend much more time shopping instead of focusing on their academics, which affects their academic performance. Apart from that, it will weaken them.

Moreover, even though shopping makes people happy, it affects their wallet, which leads to financial problems. For instance, if we have key factors to fulfill, most of the time people do not consider anything. Hence, they end up buying everything, whether they need it or not. Therefore, they are financially unsuccessful, which leads to problems at home with family members.

In conclusion, even though shopping is a famous spare time activity rather than other activities to chill out and feel happy, it leads to negative effects on our lives like wasting our valuable time and money. In my opinion, we should be careful about spending money while shopping, otherwise, it could affect us negatively.