Nowadays shopping has replaced many other activities that people choose as their hobby in their free time. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it is observed that individuals are changing the hobbies to purchasing things instead of doing other activities in leisure time. This is mainly because of perception toward activities and sedentary lifestyle. In my opinion, this is a negative development which may harm in people’s health and lose important skills.

Firstly, hobbies are shifting to shopping over other activity due to change in perception regarding shopping compare to other activities. People nowadays tend to live luxurious lifestyle, for that people buying a lot of outfits which enhance their personalities. When they get a time, they spending time for shopping rather than playing sports. Secondly, Individuals are earning well that they are capable to purchase number of things. It gives sense of achievement when they buy a product. Also, shopping act as a stress booster and in busy routine they cannot manage to do other activities. Thus, the perception of hobbies and sense of shopping are the reasons that people are changing the hobbies.

One obvious problem of changing hobbies to shopping is that people are becoming materialistic. In other words, the importance of shopping over other activity is increasing. People are looking for shopping than doing physical activity. This might cause them obesity and other health related issues. Another issue is that spending time for shopping cannot teach important skills that necessary in life. Discipline, life manner, social interaction, team work, and thinking ability which are the basic skills for people which can develop through sports activities. Nevertheless, people losing it because they are not giving time to do physical activity.

In conclusion, lookout into hobbies and the lifestyle is changing the hobbies from other activities to shopping. While, doing shopping over other activities may have some benefits, it has brought considerable drawbacks for it to be considered a positive trend.