Nowadays shopping has replaced many other activities that people choose as their hobby in their free time. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Globalisation has spread its roots across the world, thereby resulting in development of new habits with an inclination towards modern culture and lifestyle. The world has transformed at a speed of light and each of a human imagination can now be turned into reality these days. In the traditional era, playing outdoors, reading, cooking, painting and many such activities were adapted by the individuals. However, a complete different vengeance of shopping has acquired ones mind in today’s world. There has been a significant decline in conventional leisure activities over shopping which will critically impact the society and a person’s overall well-being. The following essay shall highlight the crucial causes that led to this sudden change and reflect how this situation can negatively impact someone’s life.

It can be observed that people, these days, prefer to go out for shopping during their free time instead of indulging in a developmental activity. Modern trends and traditions have made inroads in each human household, making it convenient for a person to pick out such activities that are a blend of entertainment and require less mental pressure. It is commonly analysed amongst youngsters that they prefer such pass time activities that does not involve much utility of strength. In this rat race, no one prefers to pursue the conventional hobbies as they do not provide instant benefits and require a large proportion of time. For instance, cooking, painting or reading involves an ample amount of skill and perseverance which is clearly not available within today’s generation. Furthermore, Purchasing different items provide a sense of contentment to a person. It is commonly misbelieved that shopping outdoors is also a form of physical activity as it involves taking long walks in the market or in the malls. A person can roam around the supermarket guiltfree rather than going out on a walk. Additionally, online invention and social media platforms have allowed individuals to shop at their convenience within the click of a button which prevents a person’s time and effort as well. This hectic lifestyle allows a person to sit back, relax and shop at home itself without involving much physical strength. It allows one to increase their rest time.

Shopping is an avid activity, nevertheless, it can never replace the traditional approaches of passing leisure time. Activities like drawing, playing outdoors helps in the overall development of a human being providing a person to learn certain life skills that shall help him/her in the future. It not only expands a person’s concentrating power but also allow a person to forget about the day-to-day pressures. These activities allows a group of friends or a family to increase their interaction levels and hence, possess a stronger bond. Shopping as a hobby is not sufficient for an individual to grow positively in the society and it ultimately, will create a person lacking necessary life skills. Technology has to offer multiple perks, yet, online shopping or its over dependance shall make a person a couch potato leading to adverse health issues in the coming time.

I reckon, shopping is an act one should perform occasionally but not overpower it on the general pastime activities that should be culminated in ones routine to lead a positive and healthy life.