Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing online?

With technology, people are accessing information in new ways, and some think this will be the only way public libraries will be available. In this case books and other resources would not be kept in physical buildings – they would be electronic. Online libraries have some merits but also a number of demerits. Although traditional libraries have important functions, from the author’s point of view, the advantages of electronic libraries are greater.

One of the biggest benefits of an online library is that they’re open to users. Users will have access to books, journals and learning resources anytime, anywhere, via the Internet. This can be of great value to those outside of the city who might not have access to a physical library. In addition, digital libraries can decrease the expense of maintaining buildings, enabling governments and organisations to invest in increasing their online collections. This will, therefore, allow for more individuals to be able to access knowledge and education.

However, the disappearance of physical libraries could create several problems. Some people may not have easy access to computers or the Internet, and might have difficulty obtaining information. Furthermore, libraries are not just book-borrowing machines, they also offer a quiet place to study, community programmes, and opportunities to interact with people. These areas are used by many students for study time, and many libraries have events for local people to attend which help educate them. So, it is not advisable to replace all the physical libraries with online libraries, as it could have an adverse impact on some members of the society.

To sum up, online libraries offer more convenience, accessibility and cost-effectiveness, thereby making information available to a wider population. However, some people relying on these services and facilities may be disadvantaged as a result of the reduction in physical library space. For this reason, the author thinks that the move into digital libraries is significant but he does not think it is the best move to eliminate traditional libraries altogether.