Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people are less affected by advertising compared with earlier years due to the rise of literacy. While some oppose this notion, I personally deem it to be a change for the better as these innovations encourage avoiding unreliable, and scam advertisements.

One of the main reason why advertising declined than in the past is increased awareness of marketing tricks and individuals are more knowledgeable about how advertising works. Before, people blindly trusted what they see and hear, however most ads companies exaggerate or hide its weaknesses in order to increase product sale. Moreover, thanks to social media, information is easily available and it can be checked whether its trustwothy or not. People who want to buy some product, can compare its price, read views and watch real feedback which is posted by influencers.

It can be seen as a positive development which leads to decline of consumerism and improvement in quality. If people can check its reliability and decide independently without being influenced by advertising. As a result, individuals can make smart purchases, which prevents consumerism. Therefore, advertisers would pay more attention to improving quality of their products and try to meet consumers’ satisfaction when they fail to trick with advertisements. It is beneficial to the development of society as a whole in a long term.

In conclusion, being less affected by advertasing is largely driven by easy access to information and spreading awareness among consumers. I view this is as desirable development, as it results in a decline in consumerism and focusing on quality rather than advertising.