Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s globalized world, it has been shown that the number of consumers who are influenced by advertising has been decreased more and more to the past. While the increased awareness and rise of online reviews as well as social media could be the reasons for this effect, I believe that this is positive as people are able to save money and make better decisions.

To begin with, the impact of the digital world has played a significant role in this trend. Firstly, the increased awareness could be one of those causes of this development. For instance, thanks to the internet across the world, everyone is able to gain insights about the particular brand or device. Secondly, many people now heavily rely on online reviews more compared to official TV ads. For example, a large number of people are observing influencers and taking advice through social media videos and recommendations. As a result, people are ignoring television advertisements and predominantly trusting in online reports.

However, this development is considered positive for a variety of reasons. On the one hand, this could be advantageous in financial terms. Admittedly, people can save money by avoiding unnecessary extra expenses caused by some misleading advertisement products. On the other hand, consumers are able to make better decisions. To give just one example, people on YouTube can deepen their knowledge about the specific brand more and make valuable choices in the end. In TV ads, directors exaggerate and make the scene attractive in order to attract more audiences. Consequently, people benefit financially and avid making the wrong choices.

In conclusion, whereas the growth in awareness and online information and social media influence could be the causes of this trend, I firmly believe that this is truly positive as people can avoid spending their money on low-quality products, gain a deeper understanding of different brands and come to the best decisions.