Nowadays, some parents feel that schoolchildren are given too much homework. In your opinion, should homework time be reduced or banned altogether? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many parents argue that schoolchildren are given too much homework. In my opinion, I agree that homework time should be declined and it should not be banned.

On the one hand, one major reason why I think that homework time should be reduced is that it can improve their well-being. This is because when they have less time to do homework, they can be more engagement in outdoor activities. As a result, they can not only enhance their physical health, but also their mental health, and making them relieve stress. For example, some Asian countries, which homework time is limited so they have more time to participate in some activities such as football or volleyball with their fellows. Therefore, I believe that it can be better for children if school limits homework time for them.

On the other hand, I believe that homework time should not be banned is that it can enhance their independent study skill. By doing homework they can understand fully the lessons they have learnt at school, and avoid cheating not only from frequent exams, but also semester exams. For instance, in Vietnam which homework is given not only from main classes at school, but also in some extra classes. This contributes them to study by themselves and prevent cheating in exams such as copying. Therefore, I believe that homework time should not be banned.

In conclusion, while some parents argue that school should limit homework time and ban them, I believe that it should be declined only and not be banned.