Nowadays, some people believe that fashion is too important for young people and it has a negative impact on people and society. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, there is a common belief that looking stylish is one of the main priorities of youngsters, and some think there are some disadvantages to this trend on society and its citizens. While being fashionable offers advantages such as attractiveness and unique style, I strongly believe its drawbacks easily outweigh its advantages since it can result in discrimination and the loss of some traditions.

One primary reason fashion is nowadays so popular is its attractiveness. More and more social media apps are being created nowadays, and, as a result, they are letting people from different countries connect easily. That means if some type of clothing or brand becomes popular in one country, it may influence others too. As the younger generation always looks forward to trying out what suits them, in most cases, trendy clothes make them more attractive and unique than traditional ones. For instance, last year, graduated students in Uzbekistan were given the chance to choose only one brand of clothing for themselves, and all students chose modern brands like Gucci or Polo instead of older ones such as Adras, which produces traditional clothing.

Nevertheless, despite these benefits, fashion can have a negative influence on society and its citizens. Looking from a societal perspective, there may be some reductions in societies’ cultures since traditional clothing will be replaced by new, stylish clothing. Consequently, future generations may suffer greatly, as they may not be able to learn about their traditional clothing and try it out. For instance, in developed countries like the US or UK, they have already discarded their cultural clothing, and their current generation has no idea about their valuable traditions and even their originality, unlike people from countries such as India. Additionally, and arguably most significantly, the popularity of trendy clothing affects citizens as well. As there are people from different backgrounds, not all of them can afford those expensive, stylish clothes. As a result, these differences in the way people look can increase discrimination among citizens, leading to conflict. Take the example of schools; in most of them, there are strict rules among students to wear the same uniform, but some countries are letting students wear what they want, and it is resulting in conflict between students from affluent backgrounds and poor ones.

In conclusion, although fashion has transformed some people’s lives in a good way by providing attractiveness and unique style, its downsides to the community and society, like a rise in discrimination and the loss of some cultural traditions, are far more significant.